"Map of Enniskillen"
Hand-drawn and hand-coloured
A unique map of Enniskillen in 1842, hand-drawn and coloured it records the results of a population survey carried out on the 5th June, 1841 & itemises the number of males and females residing in each street. Drawn in 1842 by R.H. Frith for the Honourable A..H. Cole & later presented to the Borough of Enniskillen by the Earl of Enniskillen. The map provides valuable information about town buildings and old street names no longer in use: Beggar Street, Barrack Street, Strand Street, Water Lane, Hollow, Main Street, Gaol Street, Eldon Place, Galbraith Row and Padgets Lane. It also names buildings no longer in existence, including a Primitive Wesley Methodist Preaching House, the White Heart Hotel, Jeffers Hotel, the Pig Market, the Shambles, a Coach Factory, two Distilleries, A Brewery & the Erne Packet Office. Margaret Gutter is shown running across the Broad Meadow & a Bleach Green is also marked.
Presented by the Earl of Enniskillen to the former Enniskillen Borough Council